Accessorise Vogue V9186

It’s been soooo long since I’ve managed to finish a challenge in time… I had already selected the pattern and fabric to make this dress when Mel’s reminder post made me think “Hang on, this would be perfect with the bright accessories” for the “Accessorise! With Tools by Hollie” April challenge. Swift sew to finish it in time and sadly only inside pictures taken at night… marginal those…

img_09771

The full story of this dress, how it came onto my sewing list and more photos on my blog.

So this is V9186 by Kathryn Brenne, it is described by Vogue as a very loose fitting pullover dress with a collar, partially elasticated waist, and an asymmetric, shaped hemline. There’s an option without sleeves, i.e. cut-on cap sleeves and one with long sleeves with traditional button cuffs.

img_1006

I decided to go for the long-sleeved version, it’s winter after all, well, almost. And yes, this is very loose fitting. I made a size M and probably could have easily made and S. I struggled to find enough space in our little house to lay out the fabric, so that I could cut this single layered, but managed to squeeze it between the desk and bookshelves.

img_1067-1

I bought a charcoal coloured wool blend at the last Fabric Warehouse sale, quite a bit of it, which was perfect for this dress. The inside of the fabric shows at the hem and this fabric is darker charcoal on one side and lighter on the other, perfect to be publicly displayed. And it’s got a very lovely drape, also not unimportant for this.

I did have four buttons of the same kind, but wanted to add a little something different (also with a tiny nod to this challenge), so I decided to give this pink lonely only a chance to shine 😉

img_1554

It is a really cool dress I think and I am looking forward to wearing it next week. Apologies for the average photos, I cut out our cluttered fridge, hence the skinny photos… it’s been raining and it’s dark now by 5, so not much chance of nice daytime photos, and strangely enough).

img_1137-1

I love those darts at the upper back, the shaped shirt-style hemline and the asymmetric elastic waistline is just so cool. It’s a comfortable dress, perfect when you’re feeling a bit blaeh, that makes you look awesome and super stylish at the same time (in my humble opinion).

Maybe more to come.

9 thoughts on “Accessorise Vogue V9186

    • Not sure if there is, but I think the right kinds of shoes make a big difference, hence my trying different kinds. Initially I thought the higher boots would not work, ie they would be too high, but they seem ok…

      Like

Join the conversation! :)

