Aprons for Mother’s Day

Aprons for Mother’s Day

As I said yesterday in my apron retrospective, some of my earlier memories are with my Mom and my Gram in the kitchen working away.  We’ve always been a baking/cooking family, and my boys love helping me.  Their aprons have been getting too small for some time, so what with The Monthly Stitch’s Amazing Aprons theme this month, I whipped up a batch of new aprons for them.

Kids’ Aprons

I used this tutorial on Craftsy for the kids’ aprons.  It fits my two younger boys just fine, but my oldest will need another bigger size.  The Wizard of Oz print will be for my daughter when she gets bigger.  The cow print is Marimekko, the cars and the Wizard of Oz are both Japanese canvas.  I lined all of them with random bits and bobs.  The aprons are all reversible.  This was a great stashbusting project.

Vintage Simplicity 6808

My apron I made from vintage Simplicity 6808.  I found this home dec fabric on the $2/lb table at Colorado Fabrics one day and knew it’d make a great apron.  I bought the pattern a while back when I was making this apron for UpCraftClub.

apron from a skirt pattern

My article deadline came for the apron, and the pattern hadn’t made it to me in the mail.  Since then, the pattern has been sitting in my bedroom where I had forgotten about it.  In the process of decluttering a bit, I decided that the time for the pattern was NOW.

Image result for simplicity 6808

I sewed it up pronto, adding some striped bias tape I made from a bit of lilac shirting.  I’m totally in love with the big deep pockets and wrap around style.  This will be a great apron for gardening!

I hope everyone has a wonderful Mother’s Day!  How do you celebrate the day in your sewing?

You can check out more of my work on my blog at Elizabeth Made This.

10 thoughts on “Aprons for Mother’s Day

Join the conversation! :)

