Birds of the American Midwest

When this month’s challenge was announced I was thrilled. I love bird-themed fabric. And I am guilty of gluing bird themed paper craft onto stuff, so I’m definitely a “put a bird on it” kinda gal. My bird fabric is from Mood Fabrics LA that I bought last summer. It’s got a heavy structural quality to it. It looks like it’s been quilted. Here are a couple of up close shots:

close up of skirt

close up of top

I don’t know if these are actual birds of the American Midwest, but I just thought that’d be a good title. It reminds me of the birds I used to look at in my grandparents’ field guide bird book, and I grew up in Minnesota, so there.

bird 1

Anyway, the top is Simplicity 8394 (a Mimi G pattern so of course it’s fabulous) and the skirt is Vogue 1486 (a Nicola Finneti designer pattern).

bird 3

The crop top is so chic because it features a large tie front bow and it closes in the back with five buttons. The skirt is actually made up of several pieces. It has a seam running across the halfway point because it’s two separate skirt pieces attached together. It also features large pleats. It has a lot of volume and movement and I love it. I feel so glamorous in this outfit.

bird 2

Anyway, I can’t wait for indie pattern month and to see what everyone makes! If you like this project, I’d love it if you’d visit my blog at See Carmen Sew and check out my other projects! Thanks for reading and happy sewing 🙂

3 thoughts on “Birds of the American Midwest

Join the conversation! :)

