Kingfisher tunic

I made this last December before we went to the UK, but I’ve only just managed to get photos. It was for travel and I’ve worn it a lot since. The pattern is actually from the UK magazine Prima. I’ve made quite a few Prima designs over the years and am used to their instructions and drafting.

The fabric came from Spotlight, but can’t remember rightly when I bought it. The bright pink fine cotton with the kingfishers told me I had to buy it! And look, it fits in with this months’ theme! Hurrah!

This tunic shape is very simple, but has short sleeves and I like the pleated neckline. It also has darts in the back to give some more shape.

The pattern was not difficult and I made it up really quickly. I think it was finished in one afternoon! I have to admit, I have very little to say, simply because it was a quick and easy make, I found the instructions clear and easy to follow, not that I used them much! All seams are finished on my overlocker and the hems are just finished on the machine.

It was perfect for the travel with leggings and a top underneath for layering. I think the dress version would be great made up in a soft stable knit and a belt, or combine it somehow with a lady skater skirt. Mm, thinks, what’s in my stash!

3 thoughts on “Kingfisher tunic

Join the conversation! :)

