Introducing Nanna from How To Do Fashion

Our very first sponsor interview for Indie Pattern Month 2017 is with a new sponsor – How To Do Fashion! Nanna, the talented designer behind How To Do Fashion, creates a range of gorgeous vintage-styled patterns. Kat caught up with her to find out more about the story behind her label and designs…
Hi Nanna, and welcome to The Monthly Stitch! First up, please introduce yourself to everyone!

Hello everyone! I made an introduction video when I released my first pattern – you can see it here!

Tell us all a bit about your designs – how would you describe your style/aesthetic?

I am drawn to the aesthetic from the 1930s to the 1970s, which popularly is called vintage. I like to mix up the different styles from the different eras to create a more modern look. I think that the modern women should allow them self to be both feminine and strong at the same time. One way is to dress up just for yourself. I think it is important for me that my styles embrace the modern women’s daily life and still bring some glamour.

How did your come up with the name for your label?

It all started as a blog and that was the name of my blog.

We’d love to know the story behind your business.  What inspired you to create and sell patterns?  How did it all start?

I started up my blog HOW TO DO FASHION in 2010, at that time I was still working in the fashion industry and I used the blog to talk about my passion and show what I sew for myself and how I did it. One day I showed a dress and I got so many requests on the sewing pattern from my readers so I decided to finish the pattern and started to sell it. This dress is the No. 1 Dragør sewing pattern and since then more patterns has come. Today I also have a sewing school and I make speeches about, vintage, styling and redesign. It was never the plan that my blog should turn into a business, but luckily, it did.

And looking forwards, where would you like your business to be in five years time?

Of course I would like my business to grow big, and be well known worldwide:) I would like to have my own line of fabrics, and I would also like to write a book. But my biggest dream is to employ. I love when I see potential in young people and to be able to get a young enterprising person the possibility to grow in my company would be the best.

Where do you do all your work?  Reckon you can share a photo or two with us, so we can have a sneak peek at your workspace? 

January this year I got a new office/workspace. The most amazing thing is that it was built for me. I have made a short guided video tour. You can see here.

What’s your favourite part of releasing a new design?

I always get overvelmed of all the response I get, the sewing community has such a positive vibe and good spirit and I feel lucky to be a part of that. And of course when I see a make of one of my designs for the first time. Actually I get very excited every time I see one. Its makes me a bit humble and I still have to pinch my arm once in a while.

Thinking of your gorgeous designs, what’s your favourite of all your designs so far, and why?

OH, that was a difficult question. All of my pattern have a special place in my heart. However, I have two patterns that are my personally favorite because they are so easy to wear and I always feel gorgeous in them. That is the No. 5 Århus and the No. 7 Vanløse.

Who or what inspires you, either with your designs or with your business?

Style vice I get so much inspiration from the Danish vintage blogger Pia Storm. We made a collaboration last year, the No. 8 Svaneke and No 9 Rønne is designd by Pia. She has also become a dear friend to me and, we share the same passion and can use many hours on museums talking about vintage and design. I have a BBF, business best frind, Maria, from Maria Denmark. I have only known her for about two years but we are a great team. She has taught me so much about how I tackle my business when it’s growing.

Do you have any new patterns coming out soon?  Any hints you can give us?

Yes I have! I hope it will be ready in start September. It is going to be a wrapped dress inspired from the 1970s. For a start, this pattern will only be available as a PDF pattern. I have did a lot of thought about making some of my patterns in a plus size version and I will use this pattern to try it and see if it has some potential.

Thank you so much for chatting with us Nanna, and telling us the story behind How To Do Fashion! We’re looking forward to seeing your new pattern when it’s released. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Introducing Nanna from How To Do Fashion

  1. Nanna from How to do Fashion is just great ! I have several of her patterns already and they are fab ! Depending on the fabric one is using, you can dress down or up every single design by her. I am a fan !

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

