Skating around the cemetery…

I’m definitely late to the party with this one, but hey, I reckon I can go to the party in this. That flared skirt makes it feel really flirty and girly. And hey, I love dresses – any excuse to make a new one!

This is the Lady Skater dress from Kitschy Coo, if you hadn’t guessed. It was such an easy make. There are two sets of instructions, one for those who need help the whole way through (perfect for beginners) and the bad-ass instructions for those who want little guidance. Now I know you’re supposed to comment on the instructions, erm, the bad-ass ones were enough for me. I just gave them a read through and went my own way! Where was I going to go wrong – nowhere! (Ha, see I caught you out then, you thought I was going to say I made a mess of it!)

I stitched the shoulder seams, adding tape; added the neckband; attached the sleeves; added clear elastic to the base of the bodice; attached the skirt pieces; stitched the side seams, added the cuffs and hemmed it. Simples!

I raised the front neckline by about an inch. I read a lot of blog posts saying it was a bit low, so I though I’d raise it and if it was too high, then I could cut it to the pattern. I’ve left it in the raised version. I also cut about half inch off the bodice. Again based on posts saying it was long in the waist. I often find I need to lengthen the waist of dresses, but this knit bodice was on my waist without the skirt attached to bring it down, so I shortened it.

This fabric, I think, came from the Fabric Warehouse here in Wellington. It was an absolute dream to work with. It’s really stable, cut out perfectly and then even went together perfectly. I pretty much stitched this up on my overlocker, using my machine for finishing the neckline and cuffs and also to stitch the hem with a double needle.

The deets
Fabric:  Pink and black double knit from the Fabric Warehouse
Notions:  Thread
Pattern:  Kitschy Coo Lady Skater dress, size 6 with 3/4 sleeves
Changes made:  Raised the front neckline by an inch, shortened the bodice by 1/2 inch and lengthened the skirt by about 1.5 inches.

Another one/recommendations:  It’s not often I say this, but yes, another is planned already, another has already been made! This dress is so comfy, it’s like wearing PJs. If you’re after something quick and satisfying to make, this is the one for you. I’m definitely happy with my dress. 🙂 The back neckline is a little low for my liking, so the next version will be raised slightly.

And photos for this were taken at Karori Cemetery here in Wellington. Not morbid at all, this place is amazing to walk around, it’s hilly (goes without saying in Wellington) and it’s just awesome the way the memorials are laid out on the hills.

For more, just check out my blog

9 thoughts on “Skating around the cemetery…

  1. I love that pattern. I’ve literally lost count of how many times I’ve made it. I live in them in the summer. I really like that fabric too. Do you know the fiber content?

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

