A Pattern from Paris

Hullo, everyone! Raise your hand if you wait all year for Indie Pattern Month at The Monthly Stitch.  Me, too! Or perhaps I will say moi, aussi as I am sharing a dress from a French indie pattern company for the dress challenge. I sewed up the Frida Dress from Wear Lemonade, which is based in the 10th arrondissement in Paris. www.makelemonade.com

wear lemonade packaging 2

A package from Paris!

This company is run by the lovely Lisa, who started as a fashion/lifestyle blogger, then developed a fashion line called Wear Lemonade. She releases a limited line of women’s fashions each season, and toward the end of the season releases patterns for some of her designs.  I had some vintage cotton that was calling to be made into a modern shirtdress pattern like Frida.

frida outfit (2)

The Frida Dress

I made a couple of alterations.  First I added 3 inches in length to the skirt.  This is one inch more than my standard alteration.  Second, I could not find a 2 inch buckle for the self belt, so I used a 1 and 5/8″ Dritz buckle. This meant reducing the width of the belt pattern piece.

frida belt

As you can see, I used eyelets for the belt, and they came out rather nicely.  The belt pulls the waist in quite a bit, which I like, but if you prefer a straighter silhouette, the pattern shows some lovely examples of Frida without the belt.  It looks awesome in chambray.

I added a few custom details.  First, I French seamed wherever possible.  (Did you know the French call it an English seam? Heh.) Second, I used bias tape on the edge of the neck facing and around the pocket bags to make the inside look more finished.

frida pocket bag

And I added in the included label. I do love a custom label.

frida tag 2

All of the packaging for Wear Lemonade is really brilliant.

The pattern itself has an instruction booklet with step-by-step photos included.  The instructions are written in French and English.  Sometimes the English translation is a little off, but unless you are new to sewing, you shouldn’t have any difficulties.

I finished off with a handsewn hem.

frida hem

Here I am wearing my new dress.  I think it would be lovely with a petticoat underneath for a vintage look, but it is waaay to hot here right now for any fancy styling.

frida side

Au revoir!

16 thoughts on “A Pattern from Paris

  1. Oh, that fabric! I can see why you fell in love with it. Great choice to mix it with the vintage flair of this pattern. And I’ll have to check out Wear Lemonade, it sounds intriguing…

    Like

  2. Perfect combination of fabric and pattern and your pattern matching on the pocket is unbelievable!
    This reminded me I have that pattern around here somewhere and now, I have to make it!

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

