An Independent Dress for Independence Day

Hey ya’ll! The competition is fierce but I am throwing my hat in the ring with Seamwork’s Adelaide dress.

dress 1

Have you heard of Seamwork? It’s Colette Pattern’s digital magazine subscription. Each issue includes credits for two pdf pattern downloads. Plus, Seamwork includes wide format versions, so that if you don’t want to tape 38 pages together or something ridiculous like that, you can have your pattern printed on a wide format printer. So for $15 I had this printed at Kinko’s. I figured I would have paid that much for a hard copy of this pattern in an envelope, so I don’t mind. The sewing is the fun part. Not the taping of the pages.

dress 5

Adelaide is an easy-going dress with an optional tie belt and it features snap closures down the front instead of buttons. The snap closures were the main appeal of this dress for me. I would so much rather install snaps than sew on buttons, amiright?

close up 4

Because this dress pattern is casual I selected a non-fussy rayon to go with it. This fabric is from Mood LA that I bought last summer. I was drawn to it because it has a cool vintage quality. Plus, the lightweight rayon feels delicious against my skin on hot summer days.

dress 3

The colors were perfect for Fourth of July, so on that day this dress made her debut. I cut a size 6 and sewed it up in about five or six hours. Seamwork designs their patterns to be made in about two to three hours, but I think that estimate was a bit ambitious for this project. The neckline and armholes are finished with bias binding, and for once this finish actually turned out nicely for me. The side seams were serged and I serged the hem and turned it up once for an easy hem finish.

close up 3

I love this dress because it’s casual and easy to wear. Much of what I sew tends to be on the dressier side, because go big or go home, but as a result not everything I make gets much wear. I see this dress, however, in heavy rotation this summer.

dress 6

For me this dress is classic. I hope to sew another version soon. To finish the look, I sewed on my custom-made labels that my boyfriend’s mom gifted me for Christmas.

close up 2

Are you looking for project ideas for next week’s New to Me challenge? Want to try your hand at a Seamwork pattern? If you subscribe using my referral link here, you will get half off your first month’s subscription! That’s only $3 for two patterns of your choice!

For more on this and other projects, visit my blog at See Carmen Sew. 

10 thoughts on “An Independent Dress for Independence Day

  1. What a simple and pretty summer dress. I like the clean lines of it and the fabric is lovely. Also love your personalized labels – perfect!

    Like

  2. I’ve had this pattern in my stash for a while, and I keep thinking I need to make time for it. Your version looks great!

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

