A summery shirtdress!

Phew – I  just finished my dress by the skin of my teeth! As soon as the themes were announced I got to planning. Alas practicalities curbed some of my creativity for this week as I was away last weekend  and then travelling for work on Monday and Tuesday, so I had to choose a pattern that would be simple and straightforward.

I decided to go for the Alder Shirt Dress from Grainline Studio as I love their patterns and figured that the simple design left some room for creatively mixing and matching fabric. I picked up two beautiful pieces of chambray from Higgs & Higgs which washes like a dream and feels so wonderfully soft. Not only did I get to use the contrast fabric on the yoke and collar stand facing, I made my own bias binding for the armholes too!

I made size 10 which corresponds perfectly to my measurements but I think next time I’ll make a size 8 and do a full bust adjustment. I figured this might be the case before I even got started but simply didn’t have the time to make the changes. As it was, to get this finished in time to photograph and post here this evening I was up at 6am this morning  hemming my dress and sewing the button holes before going to work. And then spent my lunch in the park sewing the buttons on. That’s dedication eh?

I’m pretty happy with it – its very comfortable and I love the fabric combo. Plus I’m pretty pleased with my finishing: the insides are done with french seams, and I used the ‘burrito’ technique to join the yoke to the dress so all the seams are nicely hidden. Plus my top stitching is so straight! But I do wish it had pockets! If you’re interested there are plenty more photos over on my blog: thimble&threads.

 

 

9 thoughts on “A summery shirtdress!

  1. Yes, the fabric choices are wonderful — that star print is covetable! This looks very pretty and fresh, and suits the outdoor setting very well – maybe your sewing in the park gave it an affinity for the great outdoors in advance 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So I’m not the only one who sews in the park – that’s good to know! I think I’ll need to do some hand-sewing in my lunch hour this week otherwise I won’t finish my makes either. Love the simplicity of this dress – it works so well with your fabric choices. You’ve finished it so well too.

    Like

    • Thank you so much – I’m really pleased with how it turned out! It was actually the first time I’ve sewed in the park, but it was a great way to really take a break at lunch!

      Liked by 1 person

Join the conversation! :)

