Comfy Comfy Pants

Despite having the Hudson Pants pattern by True Bias for more than two years now, I had not made it a priority to sew up a pair. I picked up the pattern in a bundle, and hadn’t sewn any True Bias patterns before, but have been wanting a pair of comfy pants for winter evenings on the lounge. So the New to Me week of Indie Pattern Month was a great push to get this pattern sewn. And boy am I glad that I did.

katewillknit | Hudson Pants lounge style

These pants were really quick to sew up, and are super comfy. Perfect for when I get home of an evening, get changed out of my work clothes, and have to struggle against putting my pyjamas on even though it’s only 6pm.

katewillknit | Hudson Pant Full view

But the best bit is that even though they do look awesome with my Ugg boots, and right at home on the lounge, I can put on some proper shoes, and wear them out in public.

The fabric is a waffle/diamond knit that’s been sitting in my stash for nearly as long as the pattern has been sitting on my computer. It has plenty of stretch in both directions, so much so  that I think I may have accidentally cut these out across the grain (but the fit is still fine). I picked it up on the clearance table at the fabric store once upon a time, so now have no idea as to what exactly it is.

katewillknit | Hudson Pant Pocket Band Detail       katewillknit | Hudson Pant cuff detail

I ended up reversing the fabric on the pocket bands and cuffs as a feature. I figure I’ll slowly work my way towards colour blocking (don’t want to rush into these things).

katewillknit | Hudson Pants side view

The pockets sit really nicely. They’re big enough for hands or a phone to fit in. And they sit just as nicely on the inside.

katewillknit | Hudson Pants inside pocket detail

I’m pretty happy with how evenly I managed to set the gathers in the waistband. But there is one part of the pants that I have left off (for now). I still need to add a drawstring, and will do so after a my next trip to the fabric store. They stay up nicely without it though.

katewillknit | Hudson Pants waistband visible

I sewed up a straight size 10 based on my hip size. The fit is good. Enough room that they don’t look like leggings, but small enough that they have some nice shape to them. For the next pair, I’m considering shortening them a little (maybe even lazily by shortening the cuffs), but as it is, I prefer them a little long to having cold ankles.

Katewillknit | Hudson Pants

All up, I’m really happy with these pants. They definitely fit my brief of comfy and stylish pants. I can see more of these (and maybe even some capri length for spring) in my future.

There are a few more details, and info on the top I made to wear with them on my blog.

katewillknit | Hudson Pants

10 thoughts on “Comfy Comfy Pants

  1. Cozy! It’s nice to have comfy clothes to change into at the end of the day that don’t also make you look as if you’re ready to start cleaning the house…. yes, I should really follow your lead and make some of these stylish Hudson pants 😉 They look like a perfect fit and as if they will be worn a lot.

    Like

  2. They look and sound great! I have the kids version and they are great. For myself, I have the Anima pants pattern from papercut, which are very similar. I shortened the legs but regretted it after because of what you said, cold ankles. I like that I can stretch around and not worry about the pants riding up.

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

