Pretty Pyjamas

Hello I’m Nina and this is my first ever Monthly Stitch post.  My sewing queue has never quite lined up with challenges in the past, but I’m an avid reader and really enjoy seeing everyone’s creations. It’s fitting my first post be in the New to Me week as I have discovered many new to me pattern companies through my fellow stitchers. And I have bought so many patterns after seeing some truly inspirational garments.

IMG_7937

IMG_7939

Except my pattern is the Carolyn Pyjamas from Closet Case Patterns, which I feel like everyone has made; but it is new to me. My husband bought the pattern for me for Christmas last year and I bought the fabric from a local fabric store pop up sale. $3 per metre – way too cheap for fabric so lovely.

IMG_7942

It is a soft cotton voile with a red and yellow check and was a last minute decision as I waited in the queue to get my fabric cut. I grabbed the roll thinking it would be good to use for a muslin for pyjamas. The buttons came from my stash. I got them a few years ago from a vintage seller. I love how delicate they are and think they suit perfectly. Stashing for the win!

IMG_7941

I live in New Zealand and it is winter, currently as I type it’s snowing. But we have booked a holiday to the islands later in the month so I really needed light pyjamas which is why they were in my sewing queue at all in time for IPM2017. With fabric so light and translucent I decided to use French seams everywhere.  I even French seamed those tricky crotch and sleeve head seams.

IMG_7944

There’s only two things I’m not happy with. I think the shorts are a little too short. I need them to be about 1cm longer. And I’m not sure what I did wrong with the facing at the shoulder seams but I ended up using the pinking shears which means they won’t fray at least.

IMG_7953

I did take a couple of photos with me in them, It’s always nicest if you see a real person in the clothes. Can you see all the goose bumps in the in spite of the thermals underneath?  It’s cold here.

IMG_7936

IMG_7926

IMG_7927

7 thoughts on “Pretty Pyjamas

  1. Great pjs! They look perfect for your trip and the fabric is very pretty. This pattern is next on my list – I’ve made it this far into the year and realised I have no summer pyjamas!

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

