New To Me: Colette Moneta

IMG_9123I truly believe that I am the last blogger on Earth to try Colette Pattern’s lovely Moneta dress. It’s the sad truth that I have had this pattern sitting on my shelf for at least a year. It took the Monthly Stitch and Indie Pattern Month to inspire me to give it a whirl.

IMG_9124And I’m so glad I did! It’s such fun, easy pattern to make and it’s even easier to wear! I love the gathered skirt, the sleeve options, and the great neckline. What took me so long to try it? My only excuse is that my sewing plans far exceed the time I have available to execute them, LOL!

 

IMG_9110 2For my Moneta, I used a cotton jersey and chose the collared version of the dress, which I cut from a contrast solid. I also added a pocket in the same solid fabric and bound the sleeves with it too.  The collar is really what sold me on this pattern – – I love the vintage look it adds to the dress and the way it crosses in the back. In fact, I was super impressed by the number of neck-line options available on the Colette website! Truly, that made me a real fan of Colette patterns, a company that’s based is in my own home town of Portland. I can’t believe I didn’t try them before now!

 

 

Construction notes: I enjoyed sewing the Moneta, but was a bit puzzled by the elastic in the waist. I wondered why they didn’t just gather the skirt. No matter – – it is an easy process, but it seemed unnecessary. Fit: The fit was great except for the neckline. I did my usual narrow shoulder adjustment, but the neck still gaped in the back. The collar helped camouflage it a little. If I make it again, I’ll make the narrow shoulder adjustment even more dramatic.

IMG_9093

All in all, it’s Moneta love for me! I’m sure I’ll make this lovely dress pattern again and again!

IMG_9071

Thanks to the Monthly Stitch and Indie Pattern Month to inspire me to give it a whirl 🙂

I love seeing everyone’s makes here and I’m so inspired by you all. Happy sewing – and thanks for taking a look at my Moneta. For more of my makes, visit Ellegeemakes.com

27 thoughts on “New To Me: Colette Moneta

  1. I love the Moneta – the only Colette I’ve never had any problems with 😉 This looks very pretty on you with the colour choices you made. Love that collar combo too. Really nice.

    Liked by 1 person

Join the conversation! :)

