New to Me: Cosy Kyoto

This post signals a lot of firsts for me – First TMS post, first blog post EVER and first Papercut Pattern make!

I’ve been sewing frequently for a good few years now. For a long time I was making very simple pieces with patterns I drafted (I use the term VERY loosely) from some of my favourite RTW items, but only in the last 12 months have I started to focus, up-skill and commit to broadening my pattern library.

http://PeggyRussell_KyotoFront photo FullSizeRender_zpsntzdnd44.jpg

When the Sakura Collection was recently released by Papercut Patterns, I was feverish with excitement! I could honestly buy the whole collection – it fits the vibe of my wardrobe well. To save my bank account from the hemorrhage of that purchase, I decided to revert to my more natural, sensible state and start with a PDF of the Kyoto Sweater (I do love a ruffle!).
This pattern appealed to me as an easy basic that my wardrobe was in desperate need of (read: Wellington winter = need warm clothes now), whilst still having a point of difference/element of fun. I can also see myself easily adapting the pattern to include a double ruffle to fully hide the tee sleeve, or lengthened into a sweater/knit dress.

http://PeggyRussell_KyotoFlat photo IMG_5923_zpsvj2ecftv.jpg

Soon after the Sakura Collection release, I attended the Wellington Fabric-a-brac (always makes for a happy Saturday!) and found a lovely golden lurex, lycra blend knit that screamed “Kyoto Sweater!” at me. What more, it was $4 for 1.4m – I love a bargain as much as a ruffle!

http://PeggyRussell_KyotoBack photo FullSizeRender_1_zpsp7nvcn3b.jpg

This pattern was SO easy to use. As a very visual person I responded well to the clarity of the diagrams that accompanied the instructions.

As this was my first Papercut, I measured myself to see what size was recommended – I was partway between an XS and S. Since the Sakura release many sewists I follow on instagram had posted about the Kyoto and from that I knew it to be a big fit, so I went with an XS. I also took 10cm off the length to create a more cropped version which is more my style. The next time round I could do with taking 5cm out of the arm length, or dropping to an XXS.

I would definitely recommend this pattern, but suggest considering how big you’d like the fit to be, both width and lengthwise.

http://PeggyRussell_KyotoRuffle photo IMG_5932_zps2ork5mwx.jpg

I’m 95% happy with how my Kyoto has turned out. The 5% I’m not so satisfied with is my own continued weakness – necklines! I failed to stretch out the neckband as much as I should have as I sewed. Next time round I would shorten the arm length, potentially tighten the cuff, and might give a double ruffle a go, all in a lighter weight knit.

What I thought would primarily be a weekend/home/casual sweater actually looks great with cropped tailored pants for work! I might try it with my vintage leather skirt next time, or high-waisted, black RTW jeans and winter boots.

Happy sewing, friends!

SaveSave

7 thoughts on “New to Me: Cosy Kyoto

  1. Yay for first posts! What a great top – cozy AND sparkly, with ruffles on top of that 🙂 Nice choice of fabric for this fun design.

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

