Kimono Summer

Hello Monthly Stitchers! I’m entering the Indie Royalty contest with my Named Asaka Kimono, paired with the Seamwork Adelaide dress I made for week one. This is the second kimono I’ve ever made. I love them because I think they instantly elevate any look, such as a casual summer dress. I loved the exuberant fabric used by Named in their pattern:

I also wanted to use something that was funky and bright so I looked into my stash and found this fun polyester I bought at SR Harris Minneapolis last year at a steal: only $4.99/yard.

kimono 5

Because my fabric was inexpensive I was not afraid to attach this sequined hummingbird patch to the back of my kimono. I bought this patch in January when I was visiting friends in San Francisco. I’ve been waiting all this time to create the perfect look for it.

kimono 9

I cut a size 40 and fortunately the construction was fairly straight-forward, assuming you have at least an intermediate level sewing experience. I bought the hard copy, and the pattern is nested so you will have to trace your pattern before you cut it out. I hear the pdf pattern is not nested, however. The highlight of this pattern are the dramatic sleeves. And, in an odd way, I do feel that the colors of the kimono compliment the red, white, and blue of the Seamwork Adelaide dress. All in all, I think it’s a fresh, summer look.

kimono 3

Plus, you can wear this kimono belted and achieve a different look:

kimono 12

What about you? Have you sewn a kimono yet? Which pattern is your favorite? Do you think the two pieces work together in an unexpected way? By the way, it really was raining when I took these photos but fortunately my friend had a very cute umbrella with her!

For more on this and other projects, check out my blog at See Carmen Sew.

12 thoughts on “Kimono Summer

  1. Gorgeous and it looks perfect with your dress. I am such a fan of the kimono look and you nailed it with that beautiful drape-y fabric. And those shoes….great color choices too! I might have to try this pattern.

    Liked by 1 person

Join the conversation! :)

