Lady of the Playground

I have been experimenting with two patterns from the Named Playground collection; the Minttu swing top and the Ninni culottes.

FullSizeRender (1)

Since it’s Indie Pattern month at The Monthly Stitch, I thought I’d share my makes with all of you.  Named patterns is a pattern company from Finland.  I ordered two of their lovely patterns in paper version and they arrived by mail beautifully packaged including a step-by- step instruction booklet.

First up, the Ninni Culottes:

IMG_1909 (1)

How fun is it that this pattern is named after a character from a children’s book?

The pattern was designed for a knit fabric, but I sewed it up in chambray and linen. Because of the loose fit, I didn’t need to alter the pattern for ease at all.  It sewed up in woven perfectly.  The elastic waist allows you to customize your fit.  If you have been at all reluctant to sew pants due to fitting issues, I can highly recommend Ninni to you.  The pattern is a quick, easy sew.  My favorite part about these pants is that they are as cool as shorts, but provide a little more coverage.  The only change I made in my second version was to cut the inseam pockets a little deeper so that they can hold my phone.

IMG_0652 (1)

Next up; the Minttu swing top:

IMG_1912 (1)

I like the relaxed, modern silhouette of this tee.  The pattern has an interesting square corner on the armhole.  To achieve this, it is designed with a yoke.  My first make of this top was a total wadder.  The pattern instructs lining the yoke with interfacing.  I was using a cotton blend jersey and interfacing designed for knits.  The yoke showed through on the finished top, and it made the chest tight.  My conclusion is that cotton jersey is the wrong type of knit for this construction.  Above you see versions 2 and 3, which were much more successful.  I omitted the yoke and used different finishing techniques.

For my next version, I made a self bias tape, attached it at neck and armscyes, and topstitched.

IMG_1908 (1)

(I added a rose applique I bought from Etsy.)

The next finishing technique I tried is narrow bands:

play finishing pink

Although it was hard to keep the bottom of the armhole square with this method, I like how it turned out.

So now I have two mix and match outfits for summer! The blue striped culottes are fresh off the machine.

IMG_1905

My dog thought play clothes was a great idea.

Benny and play

So we went to a nearby park where in honor of Indie pattern royalty week I declared myself Lady of the Playground.

IMG_1898 (1)

Xx,

Piper

7 thoughts on “Lady of the Playground

  1. I have that Minttu pattern as well. I watched a video instruction on how to do that one piece facing (on youtube I think?) and she does say the fabric needs to be a rather robust knit. But I wanted drapey like yours too! I’m worried about how that would look on my in a more solid knit to be honest. I don’t want it sticking out too much. Yours is lovely and that applique is perfect. I’ll keep it in mind that bands work equally well if the facing doesn’t turn out right. 🙂

    Like

  2. Lovely outfit. Glad you say that the Ninni pattern makes up fine in woven. On this basis I’ll buy it as I wouldn’t have made cullottes in knit, muchly preferring a linen or cotton for trou…

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

