Sleeveless Shoulder Frill Tops x4

Happy 4th Birthday Monthly Stitch!  To celebrate this very fun space that you’ve created here for the sewing community, I made 4 sleeveless shoulder frill tops.  Say that 4 times fast!

It all started with this Ottobre pattern I’ve been making of late for my daughter (3-2017-2).  It oozes cute.  Ottobre must be in love with these shoulder frills because there’s a variant of this style in every size range in the issue.

So far, I’ve made it in green/white rayon challis, a heavier weight turquoise/white rayon, and a beachy print cotton.

The armholes and neck are all finished with bias tape and the back yoke isn’t lined, making for a really quick sew.  Aside from sewing the buttons and buttonholes, each of the tops took about 30 minutes to construct.

The combination of orange and pink leaves against the turquoise and white stripes of the beach print cotton pushed me over the edge, and I felt compelled, nay obligated to sew up my own version.

For my own version, I started with DG Patterns’ Olvie Top as my base.  I added the sleeve frill and converted the back shoulder darts into a back yoke.  I also added some fullness in back pleats under the yoke so that it’d be closer to my daughter’s tops.  I finished it off with an exposed zipper at the back neck.

I have some fitting changes to make if I make this again as a sleeveless top for myself.  I’m super short between my shoulder and the base of my armscye, and I have to adjust 100% of sleeveless armscyes for this so that I get adequate side coverage.  I think I’ve come to a point that the only way I’m going to deal with this problem is to draft something custom for myself.

You can see many more pictures, read about my pattern hack steps, and read more about these tops on my blog.  Also catch me on Instagram @elizabethmadethis and on YouTube.

2 thoughts on “Sleeveless Shoulder Frill Tops x4

Join the conversation! :)

