Multi Media T shirts

I am enjoying this months challenge. Smashing my Stash is a brilliant way to update my wardrobe for winter – fast!

I seem to have fabric and patterns everywhere in little piles with patterns on top while I work out what to do with what. Sooooo exciting!

So what to use from my stash next? I was at the hospital the other day and noticed there were several people wearing long sleeved T shirts with mesh sleeves. Well I like!

So I cut out 2 different tops – all with fabric from my stash.  So challenge-wise, first here’s my pink scuba and big mesh sleeved top.

Stashwise heres the pink top:

Stash Smash Project Points
Pink scuba Meters Used 0-1 m 5 points Yardage magician
Stash Time 2-3 years 25  points like fine wine
Preciousness 10 points I like it but won’t cry if it’s a fail
Black wide mesh Meters Used 0-1 m 5 points Yardage magician
Stash Time 2 months 10  points Buried under new pretties
Preciousness 10 points I like it but won’t cry if it’s a fail
POINTS TOTAL: 65 points 

 

Then I made this black version using some 4 way stretch black silky fabric which I have made a nice top from previously so I know I like wearing this as a top and in this version I used black powermesh for the sleeves. It is hard to see in the photos but the sleeves are slightly transparent.

These are both made from Butterick 5562 View D which I have owned for ages but never used. I really bought this pattern for the different sleeves variations but have ended up using the ordinary non- gathered, non-puffed sleeve and missed off the wide cowl neck as well. Its got a very nice boat shaped neckline which I love and is more wintery somehow than my more used T shirt patterns.

For the black T shirt stashwise:

Stash Smash Project Points
Black silky fabric Meters Used 0-1 m 5 points Yardage magician
Stash Time 2-3 years 25  points like fine wine
Preciousness 10 points I like it but won’t cry if it’s a fail
Black powermesh Meters Used 0-1 m 5 points Yardage magician
Stash Time 2-3 years 25  points like fine wine
Preciousness 10 points I like it but won’t cry if it’s a fail
POINTS TOTAL: 80 points 

 

Well I am very much enjoying this months challenge.

There has to be something else I can make from my stash……………

What to make next?

If you want to, you can read more on  http://brackencrafts.blogspot.co.uk/

 

6 thoughts on “Multi Media T shirts

  1. Thanks for you comment. I think these will be very wearable tops and easy to make. I looked your hoody up. Looks good. I have not seen that pattern before. Good luck. Hopefully I will see it soon.

    Like

  2. I’ve been loving these tops lately myself – mesh sleeves and solid body. I love your top! It’s so exciting rediscovering what we actually have in our stashes – fabric AND patterns! I’m working on a hoodie B6253 – (my toile – wearable maybe? – will be in a terry fabric and if I like it I’ll make it up in a gorgeous thick cotton fleece I’ve had for over a year. I’ve never sewn a separating zipper and I’ve been trying to focus on challenges I’ve never done before to expand my skills at the same time 🙂

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

