LMV Aster trui polkadot version

My second entry for the Stash Smash is the LMV Aster Trui Winter versie. Many Dutch and Belgian sewists know this pattern and many have more then one made. I used this pattern for a T-shirt version. I already had a sweater version in my head. Almost one year later and this Stash Smash challenge and here is my winter version.

3

LMV is a sewing magazine based in Belgium and some patterns are designed by Belgian designers. LMV always has well designed sewing patterns with an eye catching detail. The neckline with the collar is the interesting part of this pattern and therefor eyecatcher of the LMV Aster Trui. I used the original pattern but didn’t use the sleeve cuffs and hem band. The side seams also have a more fitted look. I made a high/low seam and also added length to the sleeves and body pattern.

9

The LMV Aster Trui is a quick sew. The collar is always the time consuming point during the sewing proces and asks for some attention. Almost everyone who made the LMV Aster trui has is own solution to tackle the collar. Some sewists use the back collar for the front. Some sewists lower the front. I first attached the collar on the original neckline and the result was almost perfect. I made the front collar 1 cm smaller on both sides and when it was sewn on the result was perfect.

1-1

Simplicity doesn’t have to look boring. The fabric determines the outcome and look of the finished sweater. My combination with the black trousers is perfect for appointments and the white jeans combination gives a perfect casual look. I’m really pleased with the outcome of my LMV Aster Trui Winter versie. Both fabrics are a perfect match and the fact they were already in my stash is also a bonus. The beautiful shaped neckline is also the eyecatcher this time.

Are you interested to see more of my homemade clothes, home sewing projects or looking for homemade Christmas sewing projects inspiration? Just take a look here.

Stash Smash Project Points
Meters Used 0.9 5 points
Stash Time 1.5 years 15 points
Preciousness 40 points
POINTS TOTAL:
60 points

Join the conversation! :)

