On the Board with the Fabric Stash Challenge!

OK, I rack up 30 points for this little sweatshirt, made from out-of-print Kwik Sew 3452.

IMG_20171019_210603

How many meters? 1.5 = 10 points.

How long in stash? Since May 2017 = 10 points

How precious? I like it, but I won’t cry if it’s a fail = 10 points.

I’ve been planning to make this for a year now. I wanted to replicate a cheap half-zip sweatshirt I bought on vacation in Cape Cod years ago. I couldn’t find the  perfect pattern, so I asked the community on PatternReview.com for help. A member offered up this pattern and sent it to me for free, since she had a duplicate in her stash. What a sweetheart, hunh? The pattern is copyrighted 2007, so if there were brownie points for “how long has the pattern been in stash” I would have cleaned up!

It’s a lovely pattern – well printed on nice paper with clear instructions. I love the finish on the collar.

One style change I made was I added a kangaroo pocket, Frankenpatterned from the dress in Simplicity 8174. (I made the moto jacket from this and it ROCKS!)

IMG_20171019_211550

My cellphone fits perfectly in here

Next up – a button-up shirt using fabric I’ve been seeking the perfect pattern for… for more than a year!

3 thoughts on “On the Board with the Fabric Stash Challenge!

Join the conversation! :)

