No. 4 London Coat – Stash Smash!

This challenge has been a lot of fun and it’s been great reading everyone else’s posts on how they’ve smashed their stash! The fabric that I used for this project has been languishing in my stash for nearly 3 years now. I bought it the first time I went to the Knitting and Stitching show in Harrogate. It’s a wool (or wool blend) and it cost me £8 a metre and I bought three metres of the stuff with the intention of making a little skirt suit out of it. I went off that idea pretty quickly but then I moved onto the Cascade Duffle coat by Grainline Studios. I never got round to buying that pattern either…

Then I won a PDF pattern from How to Do Fashion from IPM here on the Monthy Stitch and my mind was made up. This October challenge made sure it happened!

htdf-london

No.4 London Coat versions 1,2 & 3

Version 1 is a long coat with a big collar, patch pockets, button closure and is fully lined. Version 2 is a shorter, hip length coat with no collar, in seam pockets and a belt to keep it closed. Version 3 is shorter still, has a strange tie collar, lined sleeves and a couple of welt pockets. My original intention was to make the easiest version, no. 2 (middle image above).

In the end, the coat I went for was a mix of all three coats. It’s fully lined (like version 1), it’s hip-length, has no collar and no closures (like version 2) and it has welt pockets (like version 3). Here it is…

london-coat-1

With brooch closure

london-coat-2

Belt closure but I forgot to add belt loops – whoops!

london-coat-11

london-coat-21

I’m pretty pleased with my first attempt at a coat. I learned so much whilst sewing it, and although it’s far from perfect (I think I may have used too much interfacing to start) it has got me thinking of what coat I can make next.

So, how many Stash Smash Project Points did I get?

Metres used 3 (matchy matchy pant suit) 15
Stash time 3 years (I’m waiting for the perfect pattern) 25
Preciousness I really like this fabric so I’ll use a pattern I trust 20
POINTS TOTAL 60

 

6 thoughts on “No. 4 London Coat – Stash Smash!

Join the conversation! :)

