Stitching Pants with Simplicity 8389

In my sewing career of six years, I have sewn one pair of jeans, a loose fitting pair of pants with a side zipper, two pairs of shorts, and now these pants. Considering all of the garments I have sewn over the years, pants are not getting much love from me. So I was thrilled when this month’s challenge was announced. This is exactly the motivation I need to focus on pants. I decided to start with Simplicity 8389, view D, which features an elastic waistband and tie-front belt. Easy to fit, easy to wear, yet classy enough for the office.

pants 13

I cut a size 10 and a 12 for the belt because I like a long belt. The fit is pretty good, once I manage to pull the pants up over my ass. Next time I’ll be more conservative with the seam allowance or else choose a fabric with a bit of stretch.

Get it, girl.

The fabric is suiting weight in this cool olive color that was gifted to me during a stitching secret santa swap last year. If anyone is organizing a swap again this year please let me know because I’d love to participate.

photo bombed by Lou Lou

Construction was fairly straight-forward. The only modification I made was to shorten the pants by four inches to achieve a more cropped ankle look.

pants 10

If you’d like to learn more about this and other projects, I’d love for you to visit my blog over at See Carmen Sew. I hope to be back here at least one more time this month with another pair of pants.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Stitching Pants with Simplicity 8389

Join the conversation! :)

