Meet Sewaholic designer – Tasia!

We were super excited when Tasia from Sewaholic agreed to team up with The Monthly Stitch for Frocktober! We’ve just finished stitching up some fabulous Lonsdale dresses so now let’s take a bit of a break and say hi to Tasia.

Hi Tasia! First up, tell us all a bit about your label. How did it all start?

While I was working in the fashion industry, I planned to start Sewaholic Patterns as a side project. I thought it would be great fun to be able to produce my own sewing patterns, designing for a pear-shaped figure, and writing really thorough and detailed instructions. Before I was ready to launch my first pattern, I was suddenly laid off from my full-time job. I had a choice to make, either be sensible, get a new job and keep my savings for emergencies – or launch my first pattern and try to turn it into a full-time venture. Luckily my risk paid off, it’s been four years now and I’ve been building up my company ever since!

How would you describe your style/aesthetic?

I’d say classic, feminine, practical. Every design has a lot of thought behind it, I like to solve problems or come up with neat construction methods in my patterns.

Five Favourite Items from My Closet

We’d love to know the story behind your dress design. What inspired it?

I love the look of halter tops but hate when they require constant readjusting. The neckline on the Lonsdale dress looks like a halter-style, but the knotted bodice turns into straps at the back, which are adjustable with a tie in the back. So you get the look of a halter sundress, but the straps keep it in place and the adjustable tie allows you to get the right fit every time you put it on. The skirt has simple pockets that lie flat against the body, adding a bit of practicality.

Make Your Favorite Summer Sewing Patterns Work For Fall

How did your come up with the name for your dress design?

I name all of my patterns after Vancouver-area places! Lonsdale is named after Lonsdale Quay in North Vancouver.

Lonsdale Quay in North Vancouver

What’s your favourite part of your dress design?

The knotted bodice and strap detail. It’s so different yet it’s incredibly easy to construct.

Are there any fantastic versions or hacks of your dress that you’ve seen that you’d like to share?

Sunni at A Fashionable Stitch did a version with a shirred back that looks comfortable and pretty!

You can find Sunni’s guest post and tutorial on the Sewaholic blog here

Do you have any new patterns coming out soon? Any hints you can give us? (We’re so impatient, haha!)

I have a ton of new patterns in the works, but no official dates yet! The patterns I’m working on next are a little more complicated than our recent designs, so because of that they’re taking longer to produce.

Where Design Inspiration Comes From

Thanks Tasia! We’re glad your gamble to start Sewaholic paid off and we can enjoy your beautiful patterns. It’s really exciting to hear that some more advanced designs are on their way, I can’t wait, best of luck for the future. xx

#TMSFrocktober2014

#TheMonthlyStitch