Interview with…Sarah of Ohhh Lulu!

Ready to meet another of our New To Me sewing contests sponsors? We’d love to introduce you to Sarah from Ohhh Lulu!

Sarah is one busy lady. As well as writing a popular blog she also sells gorgeous made-to-order lingerie, and lingerie making supplies including her own range of lingerie patterns.

With Sarah’s sponsorship of the New To Me sewing contest, one of the winners will receive a $20 voucher for Ohhh Lulu patterns. And my, there are some pretty patterns to choose from!

We caught up with Sarah to find out more about her and her label.

 

 

 

First up, tell us all a bit about your designs.  How would you describe your style/aesthetic?

I like to design garments that are simple in design, which can be easily altered and embellished.  I would describe my style as “classic” and fun.

How did your come up with the name for your label?

I actually have my husband to thank for the name. My nickname since childhood has been “Lulu.” I wanted a name that was fun, sweet, feminine… and in a brainstorming session, my husband said, “Oh Lulu…” and I loved it!

Anna cross-over bra pattern

We’d love to know the story behind your label.  What inspired you to create and sell patterns?  How did it all start?

I love sewing. I have always loved sewing.  I started sewing at a very young age. It was a hobby I shared with my mom and my grandmother.  Ohhh Lulu was initially just a made-to-order lingerie business.  On my blog, I would share some sewing tips and was active in the online sewing community.  I decided I wanted to try to share my love of sewing lingerie with others in the community. Developing digital sewing patterns has been a steep learning curve for me (I am not so technically inclined), but it has also been a lot of fun and I continue to learn and grow every day.

And looking forwards, where would you like your label to be in five years time?

I have so many plans!!! I would like to add some fabrics, notions, and kits to my Pattern Shop, Ohhh Lulu Sews.  For my made-to-order line, I plan on keeping production small, but would love to eventually hire a seamstress or two within my community so that I can expand into smaller independent boutiques.  It is important for me to keep my company as “handmade” as possible.

“Witching Hour” made-to-order pin-up style lingerie set

What’s your favourite part of releasing a new design?

I love seeing everyone’s interpretations of my patterns.  The fabric combinations and embellishments I have seen are so amazing!

Thinking of your gorgeous designs, what’s your favourite of all your designs so far, and why?

My favourite pattern is the Grace Panties.  The design is simple but works with so many fabric combinations…

Ohhh Lulu 1302 Grace Hipster Panties

Do you have any new patterns coming out soon?  Any hints you can give us?  (We’re so impatient, haha!)

I am currently in the final stages of releasing a few new patterns, including a longline bralette, swimsuit, and bikini pattern.  I am also slowly working on a romper pattern. In addition to the patterns, am slowly releasing some Pattern Hack’s on my blog that include how to use my patterns for swimwear, adding padding, and other embellishments.

Adjusting the cup size of the Jasmine bra

Where do you do all your work?  Reckon you can share a photo or two with us, so we can have a sneak peek at your workspace?

I work from my home studio in Orillia, Ontario, Canada.  I have converted one of our bedrooms into a work space. I love being able to work from home!

Who or what inspires you, either with your designs or with your business?  (Or both!)

I get a lot of inspiration from fabrics… I love combining unexpected prints or colours, so I like experimenting with patterns that allow me to use a variety of fabrics.  I am also very inspired by my surroundings. I live in a small town with a lovely waterfront, forests, trails… so many beautiful outdoor areas to explore! It’s hard not to feel inspired!

What tips or advice would you give to someone who was wanting to start their own indie pattern label?

Get to know other seamstress’ and pattern makers within the online sewing community. I have learned so much from others online, the sewing community really is a wonderful resource. No matter how much you already may know, there is always something new to learn and some way to improve upon your skills.  My biggest piece of advice though is to be unique and original, and to focus on an area that you really have a passion for. That passion will come through in your designs.

A week’s worth of orders cut out and ready to be stitched

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us more about your indie businesses Sarah! So many gorgeous patterns and creation! We’re looking forward to seeing those new designs when they come out. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Interview with…Sarah of Ohhh Lulu!

Comments are closed.