All Wrapped Up

The constant barrage of sewing inspiration these last few weeks have turned me into a lean mean garment churning machine the past month! For the 3rd week of Indie Pattern Month 2015, I’m back with new make from a new-to-me pattern designer – Papercut Patterns!

20150614-IMG_9010

20150614-IMG_9046

I first noticed Papercut Patterns a while ago (I mean, who could miss them, they’ve had quite a few blogger crazes running for their patterns over the last few years – Soma SwimsuitOoh La LeggingsRigel Bomber and who can forget? The ever-popular Clover Dress) but never got round to buying one of their patterns because they seemed a tad out of my budget, even with the free shipping. So when Papercut Patterns offered a storewide discount in honour of the Queen’s birthday this year, I simply couldn’t say no. I snagged myself copies of the Coppelia cardy and the Clover dress straightaway, though I wish I had gotten myself more of their patterns now!

After seeing all the gorgeous iterations of Coppelia cardigans out there, I was dying to get one of my own. I loved Elizabeth’s merino ones  (the frequency with which she wore these things during me-made-may had me having serious cardigan envy!) and Amanda’s purple version, but it was really Lauren of Lladybird’s four (yes, FOUR) coppelia cardys that really convinced me that it could have a place in my wardrobe. Look at her in that bright red merino coppelia with her hair up and looking all classy and shizz – I could totally use some extra glam over here!

20150614-IMG_8997

20150614-IMG_9018

The only thing that bothered me was that the Coppelia is really meant to be worn done up (or else it would just be a very strangely shaped shrug with too long waist ties) and I almost never wear cardigans worn up – it’s just way too hot over here on the equator! I really wanted my version of this pattern to be wearable as a top and to be short sleeved so that I could wear it as an everyday office staple – this meant that there could be no gaping, it had to be secure (wardrobe malfunctions in the office are a big no-no) and it had to be comfy.

The result? This beauty. I paired it with my Lindy Petal Skirt to show you what a classy little number it could be – this pairing also makes me look much more shapely than I actually am, aren’t wraps amazing?

20150614-IMG_9002

20150614-IMG_9006

20150614-IMG_8993

TLDR;

I love this make! It was a quick and easy little number and turned out so classy – dare I say it reminds me a little of a DVF wrap dress, but in top form?

Fabric

A polyester jersey with 4 way stretch bought from the bargain bin of a shop in Hong Kong.

Pattern:

Papercut Pattern’s Coppelia Cardy as a top. Sewed in a straight XXS (the measurements placed me at a XXS in the bust and XS through waist and hips, but after reading a couple of reviews that said this pattern ran large and since I was using an extremely stretchy fabric, I sized down.)

I did face a bit of problem with how to finish the neckline binding / how to attach it to the waistband. The rest of the instructions, however, were extremely clear.

Alterations:

Removed 9 5/8″ from the length of the sleeve and omitted the cuffs. I finished the raw edge by turning it under by 1cm and topstitching.

 

20150614-IMG_8995

20150614-IMG_9036

 

Thanks for reading! For more specific info on what I thought of the pattern, hop on over to my blog here.

5 thoughts on “All Wrapped Up

    • Thank you! The pattern itself leaves you with a very clean finish so I can’t take credit for how neat it looks 🙂 I will definitely give this a go with high waist jeans but I may have to lengthen it to wear it with normal ones!

      Like

Comments are closed.