Simplicity 2603: The DKNY Cozy Knock-Off

As soon as I read the challenge for this month I knew that I had to make Simplicity 2603.  It was so wildly popular that it was even voted Best Pattern of 2009 in Pattern Review, but, despite having owned the pattern since 2010, I still hadn’t made it.

There are four different views for the cardigan, and I chose to sew View D, which has 3/4 sleeves, and the fronts are shorter and cannot be wrapped much except in a high knot.  Given my height and the fact that I probably won’t wrap the longer cardigan the way it’s meant to, I thought View D was the right choice for me.  I sewed a straight M with no fitting alterations.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Because of the drapey nature of the cardigan, the choice of fabric is really important.  It has to have enough drape to look nice, and not be too thick or it will just add loads of volume in areas I don’t need any more :cough: my chest :cough:

I went to Spandex World in the NYC Garment District to see what jumped out at me.  I found this gorgeous and soft blue-purple jersey that has a beautiful drape and soft hand.  It was $8 a yard, which isn’t bad.  It was a dream to work with despite being so thin.  It didn’t roll, stretch out of shape, or anything like that.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I am so happy with this cardigan and I can’t believe I waited this long make it.  Maybe one day I’ll make the longer version, the DKNY Cozy knock-off, but in the mean time, I’ll be rocking this one.

For more pictures and blurb, including construction changes, please visit my blog, The Serial Hobbyist Girl.

2 thoughts on “Simplicity 2603: The DKNY Cozy Knock-Off

Comments are closed.