The Cape of Misfortunes

Cape front

The Stitchy Details: 

  • Challenge Theme: The Cape Challenge – August 2013
  • Pattern used: Milano Cape by Papercut Patterns
    Contemporary, sizing: XXS-L (my size: S)
    Description by Papercut Patterns: Double breasted cape with six buttons, a flat Peter Pan collar, side single welt pockets and full facings.
  • Fabric: Wool, bought locally
  • Notions: 6 buttons
  • Did you make any pattern alterations or design changes?
    No changes, except the use of different fabric for the pockets (but this isn’t really a change). Unless you of course count the fact that I sew one of the welts upside down.
  • First worn/Wear again?
    First worn for the pictures, this is definitely for the fall/winter. But when the cold weather comes, this will be part of my wardrobe.
  • Total price: ~36 € + pattern ~22 € = Total ~58 € (The buttons & thread is an estimation: here in France I tend to only get the bank card receipt with the total amount, so no idea what they actually cost. I estimated the cost based on internet stores).

So, pretty much everything that could go wrong with this cape, did go wrong… I washed the fabric prior to sewing and my drying stretched the fabric a bit, so I had to cut around the worst parts. Plaid matching was a pain and it took me 6,5h just to cut the damn thing. I had never sewn a welt pocket and instead of practicing it, I did it straight to the cape, and the welt was upside down. So, little things… I am happy with the end result, though, and will definitely wear this in the winter. Next time, I will line the thing if the fabric is this itchy, but then again, I won’t wear it against bare skin. More pictures and thoughts about the process can be found on my blog.

The Cape Challenge 08/2013               The Cape Challenge 08/2013               The Cape Challenge 08/2013

26 thoughts on “The Cape of Misfortunes

  1. I am truly awed by the skilful sewing that has gone into creating this awesome cape.
    double set buttons and button holes, welt pockets and matching up plaid. you are so clever.

    I love the shape of this cape; when you put your hands in the pockets it looks like a coat, the collar really appeals to me.
    I can see you muffled up in winter…scarf, hat, boots, CAPE, done.
    : )

    Like

    • I did things I didn’t know I knew: well, I didn’t know how to make welt pockets and that’s why one of them is upside down… But it’s not about being clever, it’s about taking enough time and working through the frustration 😉

      Like

  2. Fantastic… I had no idea as to how to do welt pockets either, but for a change I did up a dummy one. Will be putting the real ones in tonight. Fingers crossed.

    Brilliant job on the plaid matching too. Looks lovely and warm.

    Stephanie

    Like

    • The actual sewing of it was ok. I was confused which way it’s gonna be on the finished garment, and I even searched the internet, but mostly they were showing how to sew it and they did it with 2 pieces of fabric instead of a whole garment. I really should’ve made a dummy one just to see how things turn out. I did practice the buttonholes (I haven’t sewn buttonholes since the 90s…) and I’m happy about that.

      Like

  3. Ohh great plaid matching, love the colour too. I like that even though there is a serious amount of fabric in this cape it doesn’t look huge, it looks warm and makes me want to swirl around everywhere 😉 Great photos!

    Like

    • Thanks! I’m a big fan of yours since the purple Robson coat 🙂 I was a bit worried that I will look like I’ve been swallowed by a tent, but luckily, no.

      Like

    • I’ve decided not to avoid things: in a way it’s nice to do things you know and make something awesome, but then, when you try something new and it works out (well, almost, but at least you don’t see it too much), it’s even better 🙂 But I try to go project by project, I get the pattern I want and the fabric I want and then I deal with the problems as they arise…

      Like

  4. I love your cape! Despite your misfortunes, it sounds like you carefully worked around them and ended up with a fantastic addition to your wardrobe. I’m off to visit your blog to check out the rest of your photos.

    Like

  5. Oh, this looks so lovely and warm and cozy for winter! Good job with the plaid matching, you’ve got a lot more patience than I do!! 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.