I see lots of lovely birds, but all I have left is feathers!

The April challenge for The Monthly Stitch WAS “put a bird on it”!

Well it is too late for that now … my cats chased after them and they all flew away, all that’s left is the feathers!

image

I did go to my local fabric shop to find fabric with a “bird on it”.  All I could find is this lovely polyester chiffon covered in feathers.  I had a white polyester in my stash already, so I used my tried n’ true Butterick pattern, B5988, and again, I am happy with the results.

I French seamed all the seams and the armholes as I was unsure how my stitches would hold in the fragile polyester chiffon and I used single fold bias tape on the neckline.  It took some thought to figure out how to sew a small hem on the chiffon, then I remembered my roll of Wonder tape.  I placed it along the edge, folded it up twice, and then sewed the hem.

My finished top …

Hopefully, I can keep the cats’ claws away from this delicate polyester chiffon – or not only will the birds be gone, but the feathers too!

If you would like to see more photos and/or details – pop on over here!

Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “I see lots of lovely birds, but all I have left is feathers!

Comments are closed.