A Checked (Tartan) B6094

Yay! I finally finished a challenge in time to post on here!

Ok, it was totally accidental, but a happy accident anyway.

I decided to make Gerties butterick B6094 out of a red tartan sheet, bought from an op-shop for $1. When trying to cut it out, I had a very mopey helper, who was making things difficult…….

Starting work on the dress, with a helper

Starting work on the dress, with a helper

I made a straight size 20 for the bodice, shortened by 1″ at the bottom edge of the waistband, and graded the skirt from a size 20 at the waist, to 1 inch beyond the size 22 cutting line, to accomodate my generous derriere.

Back View of the Dress

Back View of the Dress

I fully lined the dress, but left out the bodice facings that are included in the pattern, as I felt that it was overkill.

Back View Close Up

Back View Close Up

Front View of the Dress

Front View of the Dress

I’m finding this dress is the perfect winter work dress, as it is a kinda heavy weight fabric, fully lined, and sleeveless, so I can easily wear it with a cardigan or heavy coat (or both!) I wore it to work a few times before I got around to making and attaching the buttons, But it is finally done!

Selfie!

Selfie!

For more construction details, head over to my blog post about the dress

Dixie

Update: Here’s a photo of it on!

And here it is on!

And here it is on!

17 thoughts on “A Checked (Tartan) B6094

  1. Wow, gorgeous dress! I really love this pattern, and it’s looking great in the tartan and red combo. Looks stunning on you, too! 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you! I don’t often make a pattern more than once, but I think I need a few of these in different colours 🙂

      Like

  2. I love this dress… and I am so happy to see it made up- I just pulled the pattern about an hour ago to make one for a friends daughters 16th bday. You look great! I think I could make this for myself and like it!

    Like

    • It’s such an easy dress to put together, especially if you already know the usual alterations you need to make to patterns out of the envelope

      Like

Comments are closed.