Mulled Wine slip (vintage + knits!)

It’s a two-in-one amnesty! A vintage pattern, made in knit fabric. 😉

For a long time now, I’ve been meaning to make a slip for wearing under dresses in winter (must avoid the dreaded skirt-clinging-to-tights!). And now, I finally got around to making one!

(Spoiler alert – it was surprisingly easy and fun, and I intend to make more. In All The Colours.)

For this slip, I used a vintage pattern from 1979, for a knit slip with princess seams. The pattern also features lace edging the front vee neckline, and the hem of the skirt.

I used a lovely burgundy wine coloured lingerie knit from Minerva, and paired it with two of their laces – a cream and burgundy for the neckline edging, and a satin burgundy for the hem.

The pattern came together really well, and this fabric was surprisingly easy to sew, despite how lightweight and slippery-looking it is! My overlocker/serger handled it with no trouble at all, and my sewing machine only had a couple of grumbles (which would have been easily avoided if I’d put in a new, fine point needle to begin with. Totally my own fault because, lazy).

I’m really happy with the final slip – it fits well, and the necklines are low enough not to show under dresses, while not being too low for comfort.

(It is a bit see-through though, so you get a photo on a dress form on a typically windy Wellington day, rather than on me. 😉

If you’re interested, you can find more details on my blog.

3 thoughts on “Mulled Wine slip (vintage + knits!)

  1. Love this! I like to wear a slip under my dresses in winter too but never gave much thought to making my own. After seeing yours, I’m tempted to give it a go!

    Like

Comments are closed.