The Rare Bloom: or I really don’t like floral, guys

Hello, all!

This is my first post here at the Monthly Stitch! My name is Nikki, and while I’m primarily a painter, you can find all my sewing and thrifty things over on Tea and Pupcakes!

I’ll be honest. I really hate things floral. For my personal style, it’s generally either too busy (I don’t really like prints) or too feminine. For once, though, I did finish something floral, which is really what got me to sign up for The Monthly Stitch in the first place.

IMG_1687

That’s right! I made a belt!

IMG_1368

It’s a hand embroidered belt I started making a couple of years ago with the help of a vintage belt kit. I finally manage to sew it up this month and I discovered that I had made it too long!

IMG_1363

I originally was going to put the button holes (eyelets?) in that blank space there, but even had it been long enough, I think that pretty little rose would have got a bit battered going through the belt buckle.

IMG_1704

What I ended up doing is chopping the belt off to either end  of the embroidery and adding an elastic channel and a snap. You can kind of see here that it’s a little loose still, but I’m thinking of making a few rows of snaps so I can put it on over a tight fitting dress or a bulky sweater.

IMG_1366

 

On the whole, though, I really, really like it and I’m glad I got to make it work!

You can read a little more over on my blog, and see some vaguely wonky styling.

-Nikki

8 thoughts on “The Rare Bloom: or I really don’t like floral, guys

  1. Pingback: Thrifting: Silk and Embroidery, what more can a Girl Want? – Tea and Pupcakes

  2. Hallelujah,  I can’t get there fast enough. Thank you.

    From my Android phone on T-Mobile. The first nationwide 4G network.

    Like

Comments are closed.