Amnesty: The Great Cape

Well I didn’t find out about Monthly Stitch until August soooo I missed the Cape challenge from which this all began. Cape patterns in hand I decided this is what I was going to make. It was hard to choose because with all the pattern sales I have 7 cape patterns. I chose New Look 6152.  If you follow me you know that most of my sewing is for my daughter Mori, when she saw this she was like I really like that fabric. I said hold that thought …….this one is for me. When I told her I was making pants in the same fabric , she said, “umm that’s a little too much, don’t you think?” I said go big or go home because it’s about to go down.

I am really happy with this cape and the fit. I plan on making a few more for the fall season

The pros: This pattern was super easy.
The cons: I opted not to sew the bottom together per the instructions, I was concerned about the lining not laying flat with the rest of the cape. It was a beast to get that lining not to show. I decided to tack my lining to the seams, which was not part of the instructions.

Fabric: I chose a wool blend that I got for $3.49 a yd from Fabric.com. I also wanted to add a little flair for my lining and I used a black and white African cotton print for the front & sides and for the center back I used a pink lining fabric.

…….JUST IN…………………….The pants are done and here is the complete outfit!

www.thatblackchic.com

19 thoughts on “Amnesty: The Great Cape

  1. It looks absolutely wonderful! I’m planning to make a cape soon(ish) for bike riding in cooler weather and this is great inspiration. It certainly looks as though it will keep you stylish and warm all in one go.

    Like

Comments are closed.