Goodbye from The Monthly Stitch

Hello Monthly Stitchers,

Kat and I began TMS in July 2013. Over the years we’ve had several wonderful editors help us out: Juliet, Nikki and more recently Ciara, Kyla and Elizabeth.

Our first challange was “Capes”.

In 2014 we ran our first Indie Pattern Month, sharing our passion for independent pattern designers and you all joined in with passion.

Unfortunately TMS takes a lot of time and effort to keep running. You may have noticed we’ve lost a lot of momentum in recent months and this has been reflected in the post count and content on the blog.

We tried and successfully filled a gap in the sewing blog-o-sphere back in 2013 but now blogging seems to be much less popular and there are so many other sewing challenges through Facebook and Instagram, we just don’t see a unique place for TMS to exist anymore.

This post is a hard one to write but we’ve made the decision that it’s time to wrap the blog up. It will still exist for inspiration but we will no longer be posting new challenges or publishing posts.

There have been so many amazing projects shared with us over the years and we’re grateful that you supported and sewed with us over this time.

A sincere ❤️ THANK YOU ❤️ to everyone who contributed over the nearly 6 years we’ve been challenging you. We’ve made a lot of new sewing friends and found so much inspiration from all around the world.

It’s been wild!

With love from New Zealand and the rest of the world,

Mel xx

17 thoughts on “Goodbye from The Monthly Stitch

  1. Progress has a way of challenging and changing everything. The Monthly Stitch team should all be extremely happy and proud of all the wonderful sewingness, if I may invent a word, you have spread throughout the sewing community. It was ground breaking for so many of us sewers! I have and daily use my short cape, one of my first projects. It is perfect for chilly bare shoulders when the air con switches on. I never would have made it, and other items, without your monthly challenges.
    ❤️ ❤️ ❤️So much love and thanks to The Team for all your work through the years. ❤️ ❤️ ❤️

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for running this over the years! Yes I think it really filled a need but the landscape has changed.

    Like

  3. Thank you for all your hard work keeping this site running. I have loved every minute of your competitions and monthly themes but totally understand the commitment to running these things.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sad to see you go but completely understand. Best to all of you! Thanks for all the challenges and themes that were a real kick in the pants to get sewing — I have really enjoyed participating in TMS and what a great job you all did for so long 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I really enjoyed being here and doing all the challenges. TMS stepped in my life at the moment I decided to make all my own clothes. Now five years later I also make shirts and boxers for my husband too. Thank you so much for inspiring years and wishing the TMS-team all the best.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m sorry to see you go, but I understand as I too have totally dropped the ball with blogging and running a group is a lot more work.
    Thanks for the memories and best wishes to you all for the future x

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.